[ooga chaka

ooga ooga

ooga chaka

ooga ooga]

 

It occurs to me that I can never be accused of being cliché

[right? right?]

when I just copy others’ words and feelings directly, surely

one assumes a different motivation in my work, yeah yeah

yeah we’ve all felt happy, but I feel happy differently, albeit

ever so slightly, my cover versions are essential, they are

magical gibberish, if only so enchanting to their author

 

[ooga chaka

ooga ooga]

 

it’s like, yeah, sure somebody else already wrote this,

but don’t denigrate me for feeling their feelings with

the mute’s receptive eyes, it’s just like what a pair of

[eyes]

ay-yi-yi-yi-yi-yi-yi-I’m hooked on phonics and a fishing

line, oh come on, like you’re doing anything different

when you sing at like a few hundred dB as you tear ass

down the highway

 

[ooga chaka

ooga ooga]

 

the point has always been that I’m helpless, you know,

you’ve heard it, I really can’t stop this feeling, or that one,

or any of them, so you might as well sing along, you might

as well wait until I drop off everybody’s charts forever,

then go ahead and record your own version and feel

that rush, you’ll like it, and I won’t begrudge you your

success for even one second

 

[ooga chaka

ooga ooga

ooga chaka

ooga ooga]

